250-357-9267 [email protected]

As promised, here are the instructions for how to “share” your MyHours timesheet with another person:

  1. Everybody must first sign themselves up for a Personal MyHours account (it’s free) at http://www.myhours.com/
  2. For the person who is doing the work (a.k.a. Worker), set up your client/project/categores/tasks, etc. in the Company section FIRST that will be viewed by the other person (a.k.a. Viewer):
    1. Click on the Company Tools link (it’s in blue at the top of the page, farthest to the right)
    2. Click on the Projects menu
    3. Click the Add new client button and create your client
    4. Click the Add new project button
      1. Select the client you just created
      2. Enter a project name
      3. Enter a project rate
      4. Click Submit
    5. If you want you can enter categories and tasks as well, if you want that much detail
  3. Worker: connect the Viewer’s MyHours account to yours
    1. Click on Company Tools and click the Connect New Person button
    2. Enter their email address and name (this should be the same email address that they signed up for their own account with)
    3. Click the Connect button
    4. When this new person logs into their own account next time, they’ll get a message saying that my company is connecting to them, which they can then accept or refuse
  4. Viewer: as soon as you accept the connection you will get a pop-up window describing what you need to do in order to map to a project that the Worker has set up
    1. First off, add a new client using the Add new client button– it should be the same as what the Worker set up for themselves
    2. Next, add the new project(s) using the Add new project button
      1. Select the appropriate client from the drop down list
      2. Instead of typing in a project name, select one of the checkboxes from the section at the bottom entitled Copy Existing Company Projects
      3. Click Submit
    3. Depending on how much detail you want to use, you can go to the Tasks page and set up categories and tasks as well
      1. You will also be able to copy any clients/projects/categories/tasks that the Worker has already set up in their Company profile, no need to re-enter everything on your own
  5. Worker: You will now need to set up the client/project/categories/tasks in your Personal section that you want to share with the Viewer
    1. First off, add a new client using the Add new client button– it should be the same as what you had set up in your Company section back in step #2
    2. Next, add the new project(s) using the Add new project button
      1. Select the appropriate client from the drop down list
      2. Instead of typing in a project name, select one of the checkboxes from the section at the bottom entitled Copy Existing Company Projects
      3. Click Submit
    3. Depending on how much detail you want to use, you can go to the Tasks page and set up categories and tasks as well
      1. You will also be able to copy any clients/projects/categories/tasks that you have already set up in your Company section, no need to re-enter everything manually again
  6. Worker: You will need to add the Viewer as an administrator so that they can see all your Company hours
    1. Click on the Company Tools blue link at the top of the page, farthest to the right
    2. Find the Viewer’s name and click the Edit link
    3. Change their security level to Administrator
    4. Click Submit
  7. Worker: now you can start entering time as usual in your personal account – you’ll notice that these time entries will show up as Bold, this just indicates that it’s connected to your Company.
  8. Viewer: how to view the hours accumulated by the Worker
    1. Click on the blue Company Tools link at the top of the page, farthest to the right
    2. Click on the Reports menu
    3. Choose whichever type of report suits your needs, most likely Timesheet by Client or by Project
      1. From here you’ll be able to select which “employees” you want to create the report for
      2. Click Show Advanced Options to narrow down the scope of your report even more
      3. Select the checkbox for the Worker you want to see, choose a time period, etc.
      4. Click Submit

That’s it!  Seems a little complicated when it’s laid out step by step, but really it’s a very simple process.  Enjoy!